Surviving on Seeds

Why do I recommend having a seed cache?

Have you ever thought about the possibility that food may be unavailable one day? What would you do if you didn’t have access to food simply because of price gouging or because of a natural disaster that wiped out the reserve you had stored? What about the possibility that food becomes so expensive that it’s more cost effective for your family to farm your own food.  Or, the GMOs become so inundated into our food supply that the only way to assure your food supply is safe is to grow it yourself.  These are all very real possibilities; being prepared is simple and inexpensive enough to start now.

Keep a cache of seeds on hand

squirrel

Storing a wide variety of seeds in your home is an excellent and small investment to make. You never know when you’ll actually need them, but when you do, you’ll be so thankful that you stored up.

I think of the little squirrel who stores his acorns for hard times. Putting a little away each year will assure if you need them, they’re available.  Keep in mind that the type of seed you store and how you store them is equally as important as making the decision to purchase them in the first place.

Save rare seeds.  In a pinch, they will be worth well more than what you paid for them.

Dr. Kellie Cooney

My preference

I purchase a bucket of seeds at a time; usually a few times each year.  mozybeau-seed-bucketMy seeds come from a retired Marine who owns an organic, heirloom farm in Kentucky (links below or click on the picture to the right).  I have found his seeds to produce a fruit every time I plant them!  He sells a bucket of seeds that contain individually packaged and labeled seed packets.  He’ll also provide a list of the seeds with each purchase.  This will help you properly identify each of them.  Once I purchase and receive the seed bucket, I take the sheet of paper and store it in a safe place with my other important documents.  Think this sounds extreme?  So does my husband!  But no worries, when I need it, I know it’s there.

What seed do I trust?

non-gmo-project

I NEVER use GMO seeds.  I can’t possibly stress this enough to you.  Heirloom and organic seeds are the only ones I put in my garden.  If I were to experience an emergency situation where I needed to rely on the seeds in my cache, I know the organic, heirloom, non-GMO seeds I stored will produce a fruit that is safe for me and my family to consume.  It costs just a few dollars more, but the peace of mind the right seed gives me is well worth the small, extra cost.

If you’re interested in learning more about GMOs, visit the NON GMO Project website here for factual information you can trust.  Also, look for their label on the food you purchase.

Who do I trust?

Although I have my few favorites, I do recommend purchasing seeds from a variety of trusted farmers on an annual basis.  I want to assure that I have a variety of seeds from different species of plants.  Here’s a few places I trust and would absolutely recommend to my friends and family.  Click on each of them to be redirected to their websites.

mozybeau-seed-bucket

seed-savers-exchangenon-gmo-project

**Disclosure** these organizations are simply good companies I support.  They probably don’t even know that I have them listed on my blog.  I trust them, their products and their websites to provide accurate and valuable information, which is why I support them with my business and my recommendations.  I receive nothing from them, other than what I purchase.

What happens after I have my emergency cache?

Once you’ve purchased your emergency seed cache, you’ll likely need to plant a few varieties so you know what to expect.  I recommend visiting a few websites, like the ones listed on this blog, to gain an insight on gardening recommendations.  You can always check with your County’s Extension Office or the Master Gardener’s Clubs to inquire on hands on courses. Sometimes there is information available at local libraries as well.

10 top reasons to garden from scratch and save your seeds

You may never be in a place to have to use your emergency cache of seeds for survival purposes, but if you ever are, you’ll be so thankful that you took the time to learn about how to grow the seeds and harvest the fruit of your labor.

In the case that you do need to dip into your bucket, I can only imagine that the time to do so is because of a situation that you never really thought would really happen.  In times of despair, it is hard to think about positive outcomes or to be in a state of mind to focus the energy on rebuilding and caring for others.  I suggest practicing with your seeds so the work comes easily and the frustrations are minimal.

If you decide to start planting seeds now, you’ll be better prepared mentally if the time ever comes for you to need know what you’re doing.  There are the top 10 reasons I recommend gardening now from scratch.

  1. Increase self-reliance
  2. Prepare to support your family during times of financial or economical unrest
  3. Connect with others, the earth and her plenty
  4. Gain new perspectives for the fruit of your labor
  5. Appreciate natural cycles, which influence the living and dying process
  6. Preserve biodiversity and cultural history
  7. Learn about the pollinators who are required in order for some plants to propagate and survive
  8. Create something out of nothing
  9. Leave your children with a legacy they can pass on to your grandchildren
  10. Believe in creation

Where do we go from here?

Making your first seed purchase is an investment in your future.  Remember to purchase a variety of seeds, even seeds you don’t think now that you’d be interested in having on hand.  Remember that seeds can be a good barter item in times of need, so what is not attractive to you might be exactly what your neighbor is looking for.

  1. Purchase seeds on a regular basis (1-2 times each year)
  2. Purchase a variety of seeds
  3. Choose only organic and heirloom seeds
  4. Print information about the seeds you have.  Most likely if you’re in a survival situation, information may be limited or unavailable in electronic format
  5. Learn now how to plant the types of seeds you have and harvest their fruit
  6. Consider learning how to can your food.  Tomatoes are extremely easy to start with and require no prior experience.  Many excellent websites exist that will walk you through exactly how to properly can you food.  My personal recommendation is Ball where you can order supplies and get recipes right on their website
  7. Learn about proper seed and food storage
  8. Learn how to save seeds from the plants in your garden!  This is an exciting way to see the fruit of your labor pay off each and every year.  Different plants have different requirements, so learn about them before putting the work into drying and storing seeds to avoid frustration and moldy seeds
  9. Have fun
  10. Keep learning!

be kind and comment below

